Residencies for Non-EU Citizens

Legal Abogados in Marbella

Foreign citizens from third countries that intend to reside in Spain will need a visa

There are two types of visas:

  • Short duration (Schengen visa)
  • Long duration
  • Transit
  • Of the Autonomous city of Ceuta

A) Short Term Visa (Schengen visa):

The Schengen Agreement establishes a single visa of short duration (up to 90 days) the countries that compose it are:

(Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Sweden and Switzerland)

This visa is valid for all Schengen States within the authorized time.

B). Long Duration Visa:

There are two modalities:

1). Temporary residence.

The foreigner who is authorized to stay in Spain for a period of more than ninety days and less than five years is in the situation of temporary residence, without prejudice to what is established in terms of stay for studies, mobility of students, internships not labor or volunteer services.

Non-lucrative temporary residence

  • Temporary residence by family regrouping
  • Temporary residence with the exception of work authorization
  • Temporary residence due to exceptional circumstances
  • Temporary residence for Investors Act of Entrepreneurs or Golden Visa

2). Long-term residence.

A foreigner who has been authorized to reside and work in Spain indefinitely under the same conditions as Spaniards is in a situation of long-term residence.

The procedure is initiated in the Immigration Office of the province in which you reside.

2.1 Recovery of long-term residence in the case of persons who have lost their residence due to having stayed more than 12 months and less than five years outside of Spain.

Visa fees will be paid once the application is approved.

C) Transit.

It is the valid visa to transit through the international transit zones of one or several airports of the Member States, without accessing the national territory.

Allows the stay during stopovers or flights links.

D) Of the Autonomous City of Ceuta.

It only allows entry without the right to stay overnight.

For detailed information on the different types of residence, please contact our law firm.